The Planning Commission was created to strategize and prepare the City of Martinsville for changes to come. Members are appointed by City Council to serve four-year terms. The Commission makes recommendations to City Council for the Zoning Ordinance amendments, updates to the City's Comprehensive Plan, special land use permits, rezoning and street/alley abandonments.

Planning Commission Members

  •  Joseph Martin, Chair               
  •  Riggs Roberson, Vice-Chair   
  •  Mack Evans
  •  Chase Young
  •  DeShanta Hairston
  •  Jonathan Martin
  •  Lisa Watkins                

There are not currently any vacancies on the Martinsville Planning Commission. However, there are vacancies on other City of Martinsville boards, committees and commissions.  Please download the form or apply online at the City's Volunteer page.


The Planning Commission meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. in City Council Chambers, located at 55 W. Church St. Martinsville, VA 24112.

2021 housing accreditation  from alliance for national & community resilience
2021 building accreditation  from alliance for national & community resilience